Restore Microsoft 365 OneDrive Folders & Files
Table of Contents
When you need to restore OneDrive files or folders for a user, follow these steps:
- Navigate to the Syncro Tenant's Details Page.
- In the Cloud Backups section, locate the row for “OneDrive” in the Service column, then click Restore:

The Backup Portal displays the OneDrive page. - Use the dropdown menu in the upper left corner to search for and select the affected user's name/email. You'll see all their folders and files:
- To restore all folders and files, click Restore and then select Restore All. Alternatively, select a folder in the left side panel, then check the box(es) next to the subfolders and/or files you want to restore.
Tips:- If you're looking to restore something specific, an alternative to browsing the folder structure is to enter some text and use the “Search Files & Folders” field.
- You might also want to Restore Single File Versions.
- Depending on your selection, click “Restore All” or “Restore Selected,” then specify any of these options:
- Restore to User: This is the target account for the restoration. The same user account is selected by default, but you can also restore the folders/files to another user account in the same Microsoft 365 tenant.
- Restore to a Custom Folder: Optionally, check this box to specify a target folder for the restoration. By default folders/files will be restored to their original location (i.e. the same folder(s) where they are located in backup).
- Restore from a Past Date: Optionally, check this box to specify a date from which the folders/files will be restored. The current date is the default, but you can select any past date from the calendar. This restores the folders/files as they were on that specific date.
- Once you've verified your choices are correct, click Restore. The restoration may take some time.
Verify the Restored Content
After the restore task reaches Completed or Partially Completed status in the Task Manager, you can open the restored content directly from there. Locate the task, then click the details icon in the Actions column. The Task Details window displays a link labeled “Open restored content: [name],” where [name] is the name of the restore task. The link opens the closest common parent of the restored content: a folder restore opens the folder, and a single-item restore opens the item.
Note: If you selected a different Restore to User account or enabled Restore to a Custom Folder, the content will not be in its original location. Use this link to navigate directly to where it landed. (See also: View Events in the Task Manager.)
Restore Single File Versions
To restore a single file version, follow these steps:
- Using the folder structure, navigate to a specific file.
All the backed up file versions for the selected file appear in the right side panel:
- Click the File you want to restore.
- Use the radio buttons in the right side panel to select the correct revision, then click Restore to initiate the restoration process.