Enable Remote Access
By default, remote access to assets in Syncro is done via Splashtop.
To enable remote access, follow these steps:
- Select the Policies tab in the header bar. The Policies page displays with the policies you have available.
- Click the name of a policy. The policy's builder displays this policy's Overview.
- Click the Remote Access category on the left.
- Select “Syncro Remote Access” from the dropdown menu.
- Verify that the “Enable And Deploy Splashtop For Assets On This Policy” box is checked. (This deploys and installs Splashtop 11 on the devices in the policy when the Syncro agent is deployed.)

Note: This is only for Splashtop included with your Syncro subscription. If you're using the “Bring Your Own Splashtop” version, you'll enable that in a different policy section. - Optionally, check the “Require Client Permission For Remote Access” box. This allows end users to approve a remote access request before a technician connects. Then select an Attended Access permission to control what happens when a request goes unanswered.
Each option displays a popup on the remote computer where the end user selects Accept or Decline. If the end user does not respond within 30 seconds, the request expires, and the option you select determines what happens next:- Ask for permission: allow on timeout: An expired request allows the connection. This applies whether or not a user is logged in.
- Ask for permission: reject connection on timeout (if login screen, allow automatically): An expired request rejects the connection. If no user is logged in and the computer sits at the login screen, Splashtop skips the popup and connects automatically.
- Ask for permission: reject connection on timeout (if login screen, reject automatically: An expired request rejects the connection. If no user is logged in and the computer sits at the login screen, Splashtop skips the popup and rejects the connection immediately. This is the default option.
Notes: Splashtop end users choose only to allow or reject a request. The 24-hour approval option applies to Backgrounding Tools sessions. (See Also: Use Backgrounding Tools.) These options apply to Windows, Mac, and Linux assets.
- In the Session Notification Indicator section, select from:
- Popup: Notification fades after a few seconds.
- Banner: Notification persists throughout the session.
-
Popup & Banner: A popup notification appears, fading after a few seconds but a banner notification persists throughout the session.
IMPORTANT: If you're HIPAA compliant, we strongly recommend selecting either “Banner” or “Popup & Banner.” These options also allow you to toggle a “Dismiss Banner Notification” setting to Off so end users are always aware that a remote session is active on their device.
- Using the Technician Identifier dropdown, select how you want your company or technician's name displayed when remoting into an asset.
Tip: Limit who can and cannot enable Remote Access in Admin > Syncro Administration - Security Groups by unchecking the Policies - Edit Attended/Unattended box:
Checking this box allows technicians to turn Remote Access on/off for the policy. Disabling the setting will hide the Remote Access option from the policy settings as if it did not exist. - Be sure to click Save Policy.